Studio 6 franchise cost

Studio 6 (G6 Hospitality) charges a royalty of 5% of gross room revenue plus a further 3% in marketing, reservation or system fees, according to its franchise disclosure document issued March 5, 2026, as amended August 1, 2026. The franchisor estimates the total cost of a new-build hotel at $7,251,341 to Not stated, not counting land; converting an existing hotel runs $200,000 to $2,150,000.

Royalty
5%of gross room revenue
Marketing
3%of gross rooms revenue
Fee to take over on a purchase
None statedItem 5 lists no separate transfer fee. Ask G6 Hospitality what it charges on a change of ownership.
Fee for a new franchise
$25,000Item 5 formula at 60 rooms. Fees actually charged can be lower; see the notes below.
Total investment
$7.25M to $0Item 7 estimate for a new-build hotel

Recurring fees in the 2026 FDD

Studio 6 recurring fees
RoyaltyCurrently, 5% of Gross Room Revenues
Marketing or brand fundProgram Fee: 3.0% of gross room revenue; cap: max +0.5% per 12 months; max 5.5%
Reservation, loyalty and technologyReservation Fee currently 1% of Gross Room Revenues (max 2%); IT/PMS technology fees per room per month similar to Motel 6 (see Item 6).
Initial fee (Item 5)Franchise Fee Currently $25,000; Same fixed pre-opening fee structure as Motel 6 ($41,300 total fixed pre-opening fees per cover). Franchise fee reducible at franchisor discretion.
New build (Item 7)$7,251,341 to Not stated
Conversion (Item 7)$200,000 to $2,150,000
What Item 7 assumesItem 7 Table 1: 100-room Studio 6 Extended Stay Motel (renovation and new construction). Table 2 Studio 6 Suites 100-room: renovation $230,000-$1,950,000; new construction $7,000,000-$9,700,000. Excludes land.

From the filing: Studio 6 Suites figures are clean. LIGHT THE WAY incentives as for Motel 6.

What the fees cost a 60-room hotel

Take a 60-room Studio 6 with $1,500,000 of rooms revenue a year. The royalty and the marketing or system fees that apply to every room night come to 9%, or $135,000 a year. That is $135,000 a year, about $11,250 a month, before payroll or utilities. Fees charged only on some bookings, such as loyalty-member stays, central reservation bookings and online commissions, come on top.

Those fees come straight off NOI. At 1.25x coverage, $135,000 of fees is $108,000 a year of payment you can no longer borrow against, or about $990,000 of loan at 10% over 25 years.

Fees billed per reservation, per transaction or as a fixed amount are not in this total; they are listed in the table above as the FDD states them. Run your own numbers with Studio 6 fees filled in.

Financing a Studio 6

Lenders read the franchise agreement as closely as the appraisal. On a purchase, expect the brand to require a change-of-ownership application, a new franchise agreement on current terms and often a property improvement plan (PIP), and expect the lender to fold the PIP cost into the project. For a new build, the Item 7 range is the starting point for the construction budget a lender will test.

Most owner-operators finance a branded hotel with an SBA 7(a) or 504 loan. Read SBA 7(a) for hotels and SBA 504 for hotels, or send the deal to Janover Capital.

Source

Studio 6 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 5, 2026, as amended August 1, 2026, as filed with the Minnesota Department of Commerce (CARDS). Cover p.1; Item 5 FDD p.8-11 (PDF p.14-16); Item 6 FDD p.11 (PDF p.17); Item 7 FDD p.22 (TOC). View the filing record. Fees change every year and the franchise agreement you sign controls. Read on 2026-10-24.

Other G6 Hospitality brands

Buying or building a Studio 6?

Send the deal to Janover Capital, which runs this site and arranges hotel financing through lenders.

Request financing